Image of Kira Kira - Una

Kira Kira - Una

£12.00 / Sold Out

This is a pre-sale, release date is 24th May 2019.

Letra Rec a new label formed by Andrew Hargreaves and Craig Tattersall (of The Boats), to give artists space to create music for closer listening. The longer uninterrupted playing time of the CD format allows the listener to fully immerse themselves in the music. Each release will be limited to 250 copies.

“Music has always been a place of refuge for me. My first memory of an epiphany is of realising that I could contribute to this transformative sanctuary in my own way.

Una happened in less than a year. It’s a collection of playful and meditative situations, improvised with friends and lovers, mostly recorded in my home studio in Reykjavík with very little production but all the more heart and raw soul through space echo and tape loop orchestras.”
Kira Kira

Kristín Björk Kristjánsdóttir the multi-disciplined artist has been a major contributor to the experimental electronic music scene for a number of years, co-founding the Kitchen Motors label and collective alongside Jóhann Jóhannson and Hilmar Jensson, writing music for theatre, film, dance, art-installations as well as four solo albums.

UNA is an album cycle of soundscapes and mantras taking words from The Foundation for Inner Peace book “A Course in Miracles” (A Miracle is A Shift In Perception From Fear To Love), the Sanskrit mantra “Samgacchadvam” (Together is A Place) and newly written words designed as “medicine for the mind.”

“I’ve practiced Yoga and meditation avidly for about 10 years now and so I am well familiar with the practice of using mantras as medicine for the mind and spirit. But finding words outside the traditional arsenal of healing mantras that resonate with me personally was something else and has taken things to a new level. I hope this one can be of service to others as well.”

With intuition as a guide Kira expertly weaves a web of delicate spectral sound and space to entice the listener into the transformative energy of each mantra. With a cast of new and old collaborators Kira reveals a new dimension to her work, a more delicate and lowercase production that enables the music to radiate light and create a space for private reveries and meditations.

Kira Kira is joined on UNA by Andri Ásgrímsson, Pétur Hallgrímsson, Bryndís Jakobsdóttir, Bergsteinn Jónsson, Árni Heiðar Karlsson, Kórus, Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson, Aaron Roche and Tape Loop Orchestra.

1. Holding Space For The Unimaginable.
2. Together Is A Place.
3. A Miracle Is A Shift In Perception From Fear To Love.
4. Good Natures.
5. Beginning.
6. The Only Way Out Is In.